Sunday, March 22, 2009

Ghana Music Awards Festival 2009

The 10th edition of Ghana Music Awards was launched at the La Beach Hotel, in Accra Tuesday March 3, 2009. The awards sponsored by MTN are in two categories. One category lists artists and the other is labeled industry awards. The biggest names in the Ghanaian music industry flocked to the Labadi Beach Hotel Gardens as the nominees list was revealed. All songs with x-rated and violent lyrics will be disqualified from nominations lists.

Here is the full list of nominees for the artists categories.

Artist of the Year
  • Philipa Baafi
  • Okyeame Kwame
  • Christiana Love
  • Asem
  • Praye
  • Sidney (Barima)
Most Popular Song of the Year
  • Me Mma Me Werenfi – Christiana Love
  • Go High – Philipa Baafi
  • Africa Money – Sidney
  • Angelina – Praye
  • Ngozi – Michael Dwamena
  • Woso – Okyeame Kwame
Discovery of the Year
  • Gifty Osei
  • R2Bees
  • Asem
  • Wanlov the Kubulor
  • Klala
  • Richie
Best Male Vocal Performance (Solo/Group)
  • Do No Bi - Kwabena Kwabena
  • Ngozi – Michael Dwamena
  • Ete Sen? – OJ
  • Odo Dede Me – Pat Thomas
  • Frema – Richie
  • Me Nhyia Bi Da – Oheneba Kissi
Best Female Vocal Performance (Solo/Group)
  • Life – Bernice Offei
  • Me Mma Me Werenfi – Christiana Love
  • Me Nte Ase – Opiesie Esther
Hip Hop Song of the Year
  • Right Now – Joe Frazier
  • Konkonsa – Wanlov the Kubolor
  • When I Get You – Richie/Asem
  • Pigaro – Asem
  • Wonkoaa – Praye
  • Woso – Okyeame Kwame
Hiplife Song of the Year
  • Medo Mmaa – Okyeame Kwame
  • Nye He Ye Few – Klala
  • Adoma – Reggie Zippy
  • Mercy Lokko – Czar
  • Oyeadieyie – Dunsin
  • President Obour – Obour
Hiplife / Hiphop Artist(s) of the Year
  • R2Bees
  • Praye
  • Asem
  • Sidney
  • Okyeame Kwame
Gospel Song of the Year
  • Go High – Philipa Baafi
  • Emere – Josh Laryea
  • Ete Sen? – OJ
  • Akokofunu (Heaven) – Great Ampong
  • Me Mma Me Werenfi – Christiana Love
  • Me Nte Ase – Opiesie Esther
  • Aseda – Gifty Osei
  • Pentecost Ogya – Evangelist Diana Asamoah
Gospel Artist(s) of the Year
  • Opeisie Esther
  • Philipa Baafi
  • Christiana Love
  • Josh Laryea
  • Gifty Osei
  • Great Ampong (Isaiah)
Contemporary Highlife Song of the Year
  • Ngozi – Michael Dwamena
  • Akonta – Kofi Nti
  • Odo Dedeme – Pat Thomas
  • B Power – Daddy Lumba
  • Me Nhyia Bi Da – Oheneba Kissi
  • Do No Bi – Kwabena Kwabena
Contemporary Highlife Artiste(s) of the Year
  • Kofi Nti
  • Kwabena Kwabena
  • Ofori Amponsah
  • Daddy Lumba
  • Lucky Mensah
Afro Pop Song of the Year
  • Gologolo – Echo
  • Frema – Richie
  • African Money – Sidney
  • Angelina – Praye
  • I Dey Mad – R2Bees
Reggae Song of the Year
  • M’akoma mu – Papa Wastic
  • Change Your Constitution – Chizzy Waller
  • You Stole My Heart – Daasebre Dwamena
  • My Sweet Girl – Samini
  • Barack Obama – Blakk Rasta
Best Collaboration of the Year
  • Ade Akye Abia – Christiana Love & Kwaku Gyasi
  • Odo Dedeme – Pat Thomas/K. K. Fosu
  • Mercy Lokko – Czar/Richie/Tinny
  • Ngozi – Michael Dwamena/Nii Lantey
  • Nhyira – Slim Busterr/Tinny
  • Woso – Okyeame Kwame/Richie

Wednesday, March 4, 2009

Hard Candy by Madonna

Hard CandyHard Candy is the eleventh studio album by Madonna. It was released on April 25, 2008 by Warner Bros. Records following the full release of its lead single "4 Minutes".

The album, overall, has an urban pop vibe, while remaining a dance-pop record at heart.
Justin Timberlake, one of the featured producers of the record defined the album as being "an R&B/pop/dance record." The New York Times reviewed the album as "a set of catchy, easily digestible, mass-appeal songs."

It debuted at number one on the Billboard 200 with over 280,000 copies sold. It was certified Gold on June 4, 2008, a month after its release.

The lead single, "4 Minutes", features Justin Timberlake and Timbaland. Its peaked at Number 3 on the U.S. Billboard Hot 100. The Rolling Stone magazine described the song as having "a marching band aesthetic as blasting brass play a scale-like riff", and called the song "a loud, busy, energetic track."

Track listing
  1. Candy Shop 4:15
  2. 4 Minutes (Featuring Justin Timberlake And Timbaland) 4:04
  3. Give It 2 Me 4:47
  4. Heartbeat 4:03
  5. Miles Away 4:48
  6. She's Not Me 6:04
  7. Incredible 6:19
  8. Beat Goes On (Featuring Kanye West) 4:26
  9. Dance 2night 5:03
  10. Spanish Lesson 3:37
  11. Devil Wouldn't Recognize You 5:08
  12. Voices 3:39
Hard Candy Lyrics

Monday, March 2, 2009

BRIT Awards 2009

Earls Court Exhibition Centre in London hosted The BRIT 2009, and was broadcast live on ITV1, on Wednesday, 18 February at 8 pm (GMT).

Welsh singer Duffy, walked away with the awards for British female solo artist, British breakthrough act and British album.

Duffy became the first female artist to ever win three awards in the same year, and only Blur, in 1995, has ever won more awards at a single ceremony.

Kylie Minogue, Mathew Horne and James Corden hosted the ceremony, with Fearne Cotton presenting backstage.

The full list of winners:

British Male Solo Artist: Paul Weller
British Female Solo Artist: Duffy
British Breakthrough Act: Duffy
British Group: Elbow
British Live Act: Iron Maiden
British Single: Girls Aloud 'The Promise'
Mastercard British Album: Duffy 'Rockferry'
International Male Solo Artist: Kanye West
International Female Solo Artist: Katy Perry
International Group: Kings Of Leon
International Album: Kings Of Leon 'Only By The Night'
Critics' Choice Award: Florence and the Machine
Outstanding Contribution to Music: The Pet Shop Boys
Producer's Award: Bernard Butler