Thursday, September 11, 2008

New Opeth album - Watershed

Opeth WatershedWatershed is album number nine by the Swedish progressive death metal band Opeth. The album was first released digitally on the European iTunes Stores on May 19, 2008, and released physically on May 30, 2008 in Europe, June 2, 2008 in the United Kingdom, and June 3, 2008 in North America.

Watershed signifies a new start for Opeth. Watershed is the first studio album by Opeth to feature drummer Martin Axenrot and guitarist Fredrik Åkesson.

The first song to be heard by the public was Heir Apparent, which was performed in concert and recorded on video by fans who uploaded the videos onto YouTube. Mike Akerfeldt wrote most of the songs, he has constructed the album in a more evocative way this time.

The special edition of the album includes a bonus DVD featuring a rehearsal session making of documentary, a 5.1 mix of the album, and three bonus tracks.
Highest Billboard chart position: No. 23.

  1. Coil - 3:10
  2. Heir Apparent - 8:50
  3. The Lotus Eater - 8:50
  4. Burden - 7:41
  5. Porcelain Heart - 8:00
  6. Hessian Peel - 11:25
  7. Hex Omega – 7:00
Special edition bonus tracks:
  1. Derelict Herds – 6:28
  2. Bridge of Sighs – 5:55
  3. Den ständiga resan – 4:09

No comments: